Thomas Daneskov wins five Shortlist Awards for Puff, Puff, Pass

“We've really found the new, big talent in Danish cinema,” said Claus Christensen,chief editor of Danish film magazine Ekko (and who also served as a jury member). “His film has the rare combination of mature precision and playful, humorous energy. Many directors take their entire career to find this delicate balance.”

Twenty-five-year-old Danish director Thomas Daneskov’s second short, Puff, Puff, Pass, swept the first Shortlist Awards at Copenhagen’s Øksnehallen last week (Friday 21 November), leaving with five trophies: Best Film, Screenplay and Editing (Daneskov), Best Actor (Søren Spanning) and Best Cinematography (the actor’s son, Jasper Spanning).

Self-taught – he never went to film school but just started making films, the first of which was the eight-minute Calm Waters in 2011 – Daneskov’s new, offbeat comedy follows a father and son as they travel to a summer cottage while smoking hashish and drinking Fernet Branca, with their aim being “to realise themselves”.

The jury, which also included Danish director Janus Metz and actress Danica Curcic, bestowed awards upon another nine titles from Ekko’s Shortlist, while the Audience Prize went to Stefan Kjær Olsen’s Blood Brothers, a novella film starring Bjarne Henriksen, among others, set in the underworld of the provincial city of Vejle.


The Shortlist Award for Best Film: Puff, Puff, Pass – Thomas Daneskov. Producer: Kirstine Barfoed, for Killit Films 

The Audience Prize: Blood Brothers – Stefan Kjær Olsen. Producers: Preben Steen Nielsen and Claus Thomsen, for Idéfabrikken

Best Fiction: LadyboyAske Bang. Producer: Nina Helveg, for Goumet Film

Best Documentary: The Time We HaveMira Jargil. Producer: Elisabeth Victoria Poulsen, for Den Danske Filmskole


Best Animation: The Saga of BiôrnBenjamin Kousholt. Producer: Michelle Nardone, for The Animation Workshop 

Best Experiment: SatelliteMaia Elisabeth Sørensen. Producer: Mille Haynes, for Friishaynes


Best Actress: Sarah-Sofie Boussnina, for In Absentia (director: Bebiane Ivalo Kreutzmann)

Best Actor: Søren Spanning, for Puff, Puff, Pass 

Best Screenplay: Thomas Daneskov, for Puff, Puff, Pass

Best Cinematography: Jasper Spanning, for Puff, Puff, Pass 

Best Editing: Thomas Daneskov, for Puff, Puff, Pass 

Best Production Design: Charlotte Bech, for Les amours perdues (director:
 Samanou Acheche Sahlstrøm

Best Sound Design: Jess Wolfsberg, for Junk Love (director: Nikolaj B Feifer

Best Musical Score: Povl Kristian, for Father (director: Per Dreyer)

24 November 2014, by Jorn Rossing Jensen