Oberhausen announces Competition titles

Each year the Oberhausen International Short Film Festival – the world's longest running international short film competition – receives around 5,000 entries from about 90 countries. 

Among the entries submitted during the course of the 60-year history of this competition one finds names such as, Michel Gondry, Werner Herzog, Takashi Ito, Jean-Pierre Jeunet, Aki Kaurismäki, Spike Lee, George Lucas, Chris Marker, Jonas Mekas, Idrissa Ouedraogo, François Ozon, Roman Polanski, Alain Resnais, Pipilotti Rist, Jacques Rivette, Zbigniew Rybczynski, Martin Scorsese, Ousmane Sembène, Jean-Marie Straub, Jan Švankmajer, István Szabó, Gus Van Sant, Agnès Varda and many others.

For the 61st edition of the festival, which famously has always examines the intersections between art and cinema, highlights will include We Know We Are Just Pixels (Dir. Laure Prouvost, UK, 2014) from the Turner Prize Winning artist / filmmaker (who also won the main prize at the 57th edition of Oberhausen) and Two Clothespins in an Envelope (Dir. Susanna Wallin, UK/USA, 2015) the latest film from Susanna Wallin whose films straddle the line between fiction and documentary.

The jury of the International Competiton will consist of George Clark, author and curator (Tate Modern), London, Kati T. Kivinen, author and curator (KIASMA), Helsinki, Chan-Kyong Park, filmmaker and curator (Mediacity Biennale a.o.), Seoul , Andréa Picard, author and curator (Wavelengths a.o.), Toronto and Marta Ponsa, author and curator (Jeu de Paume), Paris

You can view the full selection odf the international competiton HERE

Highlights in the German competition include Fabric (Dir. Germany/Netherlands, Christoph Girardet, 2014). Girardet has been a fixture on the festival circuit (usually with co-director Matthias Muller) with films such as Cut and Maybe Siam

The German jury will consist of Frédéric Jaeger, author, Berlin, Carolin Schmitz, filmmaker, Cologne, Senta Siewert, film scholar, Frankfurt on the Main
You can view the full selection for the German competition HERE 

You can find out about all the festival sections and awards at the festival, which runs  30th April-5th May, HERE

19 March 2015, by Laurence Boyce