Rotterdam announces diverse range of shorts for 2016 Competition

The International Film Festival Rotterdam (IFFR) has finalised its selection for the eleventh Tiger Awards Competition for Short Films . The 2016 selection is a mix of 23 short fiction films, documentaries and experimental films from countries including Japan, Palestine, Singapore, Brazil, Serbia, France and New Zealand.

There are three Canon Tiger Awards for Short Films up for grabs, each consisting of a €3,000 cash prize plus a professional digital video camera made available by Canon. The jury will also pick a film to go on to compete in the short films category of the annual European Film Awards (EFA).

Alongside Tiger Award-winner Roy Villevoye and renowned filmmakers such as Vincent Meessen, Cyprien Gaillard, Yto Barrada and Mark Leckey, the selected makers include many new names and young filmmakers. The selection also contains eleven world premieres and three international premieres. Three of the films selected are from the Netherlands.

The jury for the Tiger Awards Competition for Short Films is made up of British artist, filmmaker and double winner of this award, Ben Rivers; politically committed artist, writer and filmmaker Naeem Mohaiemen from Bangladesh; and Mieke Bernink, professor on the Master’s degree course at the Netherlands Film Academy.

Selection Tiger Awards Competition for Short Films 2016

All Still Orbit, Dane Komljen, James Lattimer, (Croatia, Serbia, Germany, Brazil)
an is that isn’t always, Richard T. Walker (USA)
B-ROLL with Andre, James N. Kienitz Wilkins (USA)
Cinéma concret, Makino Takashi (Japan, the Netherlands)
Dag'aa, Shadi Habib Allah (Palestine)
The Double, Roy Villevoye, Jan Dietvorst (the Netherlands)
Dream English Kid 1964-1999 AD, Mark Leckey (United Kingdom)
Elle pis son char, Loïc Darses (Canada)
Engram of Returning, Saïto Daïchi (Canada)
Establishing Eden, Persijn Broersen, Margit Lukács (the Netherlands, New Zealand)
Faux départ, Yto Barrada (Morocco)
Letters from Panduranga, Nguyen Trinh Thi (Vietnam)
Night Soil – Economy of Love, Melanie Bonajo (USA, the Netherlands)
Nightlife, Cyprien Gaillard (France)
not even nothing can be free of ghosts, Rainer Kohlberger (Austria, Germany)
Novaciéries, Jonathan Debrouwer, Marine Brutti, Arthur Harel (France)
One.Two.Three, Vincent Meessen (Belgium)
Painting with History in a Room Filled with People with Funny Names 3, Korakrit Arunanondchai (USA, Thailand, France)
Le Park, Randa Maroufi (France)
SEA STATE 6, Charles Yi Yong Lim (Singapore)
Solitary Acts (4, 5, 6), Nazli Dincel (USA, Turkey)
Tout le monde aime le bord de la mer, Keina Espiñeira (Spain)
Viva água, Cynthia Madansky (Italy)

13 January 2016, by Cineuropa Shorts